It’s not just about the ingredients we use, it’s also the ingredients we don’t use which makes us stand out from the crowd.
No Artificial Colours
We don’t believe that you have to make your products bright white, green or red for people to like them. We prefer nature to choose which colours our products will be.
No Artificial Flavours
We think mint tastes just great as it is. So we don’t bother to try and artificially enhance the taste.
No Artificial Preservatives
This is stuff like BHA and BHT. These are heavily artificial ingredients with much written about their side effects. Many industries are choosing to remove them from their products. We simply don’t add artificial antioxidants to our gum or mints. We like to use what’s naturally available to make our products as good as they can be, so we use natural ingredients like rapeseed oil instead.
No Synthetic Gum Base
Most modern gum is made using synthetic rubbers like polyisobutylene. This is the same stuff used to make inner tubes and basketballs. We don’t like the idea much of chewing on plastics and oil so we use chicle instead. It’s natural, helps protect the Rainforest and does not contain any nasty synthetic ingredients.
No Aspartame or Intense Sweeteners
Aspartame is an intense artificial sweetener that is 200 times sweeter than sugar and therefore a very cost-effect way of sweetening sugar-free gum or mints.
It’s highly artificial and one of the most controversial ingredients used in food and drink due to the possible side effects. It’s also 50% made from phenylalanine which some people are severely allergic to.
We only use xylitol. It comes from trees and is good for your teeth.
No Animal Derivatives
You may be surprised to learn a lot of confectionery products, including gum and mints, are made with ingredients that are made from animals not plants. Many use use Pork and Bovine Gelatine or Sterates made from animal fat (normally cows) but we stay well clear of any animal-derived ingredients and choose to use vegetable extracts instead.
All of our products are suitable for vegans and vegetarians and they are all officially accredited by the Vegetarian Society to show we are not telling pork pies.